Mac ‘Mocha’ Lipstick Review and Swatch! 

Hey there gorgeous people!  Welcome back to ibeautytalk ❤️

Summer is nearly gone (had about 2 hours of summer here in England LOL!) and Autumn approaches.  It’s my favourite season of the year and has me experimenting with much more braver makeup styles.  I don’t know what it is about Autumn but I feel everyone rocks their makeup so I can’t wait! 😉

Today I’m going to be reviewing a second MAC lipstick, in the shade ‘Mocha‘.  Again, like the shade Amorous in my last post, this is a satin finish lipstick and retails at £15.50. 

I was actually recommended this lipstick shade by a friend who said it would suit those with a warm undertone to their skin.  I’m so glad I trusted her and bought it!  It really is a lovely everyday colour.

MAC mocha lipstick (satin)

Mocha is described as a peachy yellow/orange brown and would work as a lovely nude and earthy lipstick for those with medium to dark skin.  It is a satin finish and feels/looks almost matte on the lips.  It is opaque and true to its colour, so I wouldn’t worry if you have pigmented lips as the colour shows up very well. 
  
Being a olive skinned gal with very yellow undertones, I find it extremely difficult to find nude lipsticks that don’t wash me out and make it look like I have concealer on my lips (we don’t want that do we?!).  So, when I bought Mocha i was pleasantly surprised to find it really complemented my skin well and didn’t wash me out (woopee!), unlike velvet teddy which, unfortunately washes me out during the summer months when I tan. 

‘Mocha’ swatch in natural light

As you can see, Mocha is almost a ‘my lips but better’ shade.  I find this lipstick to be a TINY bit drying after a while, so a lip balm underneath would be great for me.  This is quite long wearing (about 5-6 hours) and leaves the most gorgeous stain.  If you did want a shade a bit more darker or browner, I would recommend Mac ‘Taupe‘.  

 

‘Mocha’ in artificial lighting

 
In artificial lighting, this shade looks so amazing and effortless!  It really is my holy grail nude lipstick, and goes well with a heavy look or even a touch of highlighter and peachy coloured blush.  If you’re in a rush in the morning and don’t have time to put any makeup on, a swipe of this will really polish you up and brighten your face.   

I really am falling more and more in love with MAC lipsticks everyday.  They have so many shades to suit any skintone!  Plus they smell incredible 🙂

Pros:

  • Long wearing
  • Smell amazing
  • Good colour pay off
  • Won’t wash you out
  • Not too drying
  • Don’t need a lipliner
  • Classy packaging

Cons:

  • Price (as always)

So, if you have a warmer undertone and find nude lipsticks just wash you out, I can’t recommend this lipstick enough! It would be perfect.  I think this lipstick would suit most skintones, but for a warmer complexion, Mocha is a must and I find it to be very underrated.

I hope you enjoyed this review.  Please feel free to ask any questions 😄

See you very soon loves,

ibeautytalk 💕

Xxx

15 thoughts on “Mac ‘Mocha’ Lipstick Review and Swatch! 

Leave a Reply

