MAC ‘Amorous’ lipstick review + swatch πŸ’œ

Hey there lovely people,

Hope you’ve all had an amazing Monday so far.  I know I have!  Makeup shopping is by far my most favourite activity  πŸ˜‰

Today I went to a MAC counter and picked up three satin lipsticks.  I wanted to get some lovely shades for Autumn/fall.  Autumn time is my favourite time for wearing a bold vampy lip and I think anyone can pull it off!

The shades I picked up were Twig, Mocha and Amorous, which retail at Β£15.50 each.  I will be swatching the previous two in a later post and today want to focus on Amorous πŸ’‹

   

MAC satin lipstick in Amorous

 

I absolutely adore the chic, black matte packaging of mac lipsticks.  Simple, stylish and functional. 

I would describe this shade as a deep plum with a hint of brown.  The satin finish lipsticks by mac are my favourite.  They are opaque, moisturising and true to their colour.  I feel this shade would suit almost any skin tone.  I myself have an olive, tanned compexion and so prefer colours like Amorous against my skin.  

  
 I find this lipstick looks different in various lighting.  For example, in natural light this colour on me is a very vibrant berry colour, however in artificial lighting, it almost looks as though it is a neutral, deep mauve.   I love that about this shade!  So versatile.

  
I hope you’ll excuse the bad lighting in the above picture (I have yet to master the art of swatching on the lips πŸ˜‰).  I applied the lipstick without a lipliner, and feel this works just fine.  I didn’t notice any feathering throughout the day which is a bonus! (I first apply a layer, blot, then add another layer).  If you have dry lips I would recommend a lip balm before application.

The texture of this lipstick is somewhat creamy, without looking shiny.  I would describe it as a semi matte finish.  After a few hours, it leaves a gorgeous, even stain.  So, great staying power!  Also, the smell is gorgeous… A lovely vanilla scent without being too overpowering. 

This shade is very buildable and can be taken from a subdued berry to an intense gothic plum shade after a few layers of application.  So, if you’re not brave enough to go all out vampy, this is the perfect plum shade to experiment with. 

Pros:

  • Convenient packaging
  • Excellent colour pay off
  • Nice smell
  • Moisturising
  • No feathering/bleeding
  • No lipliner needed
  • Good staying power 
  • Leaves a gorgeous stain
  • 4.5/5

Cons:

  • Pricey

I highly recommend the shade Amorous to anyone looking for the perfect autumn colour!  It will flatter most skin tones and really bring out your features.  This shade is not too dark that it can’t be worn with heavy eye makeup.  Personally, I think this with a brown smokey eye would SLAY! πŸ˜‰
I will definitely be buying more mac lipstick shades and can’t wait to show you guys some swatches! 

Hope you enjoyed this review and don’t be afraid to try a lip colour you’ve never worn before this autumn/fall!  

Any questions please feel free to ask.

ibeautytalk πŸ’‹

8 thoughts on “MAC ‘Amorous’ lipstick review + swatch πŸ’œ

Leave a Reply

